A Twelve-Year Night (2018)


A Twelve-Year Night (2018)
La noche de 12 años (original title)

1973. Uruguay is governed by a military dictatorship. One autumn night, three Tupamaro prisoners are taken from their jail cells in a secret military operation. The order is precise: "As we can't kill them, let's drive them mad." The three men will remain in solitary confinement for twelve years. Among them is Pepe Mujica - later to become president of Uruguay.
IMDb  7.6 /10
Release Date2018-09-20
Runtime2h 2mins
GenreBiography, Crime, Drama, History
Content RatingTV-MA (TV-MA)
Awards47 wins & 30 nominations.
CompanyAlcaravan, Aleph Media, Haddock Films
CountryUruguay, Spain, Argentina, France, Germany

A Twelve-Year Night

A Twelve-Year Night (Spanish: La noche de 12 años) is a 2018 Uruguayan drama film directed by Álvaro Brechner. It premiered in Official Selection at the 75th Venice International Film Festival, and it was selected as the Uruguayan entry for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 91st Academy Awards, but it was not nominated. The film won the Golden Pyramid Award at the 40th Cairo International Film Festival.

The film is about the 12-year incarceration of members of the Tupamaros, a left-wing urban guerrilla group active in the 1960s and 1970s, 9 of whom were held as "hostages" between 1972 and 1985.

As a result, several characters are dramatisations of real people. Among them, José Mujica who became the 40th President of Uruguay from 2010 to 2015.


  • Antonio de la Torre as José Mujica
  • Chino Darín as Mauricio Rosencof
  • Alfonso Tort as Eleuterio Fernández Huidobro
  • César Troncoso as Militar
  • Soledad Villamil as Psiquiatra


Critical response

On Rotten Tomatoes, the film has an approval rating of 80% based on 15 reviews and an average rating of 7.43/10.


A Twelve-Year Night won the Golden Pyramid Award at the 40th Cairo International Film Festival on 29 November 2018. The film received six nominations for the 6th Platino Awards, including Best Ibero-American Film and Best Director.