The Corrupted (2019)


The Corrupted (2019)

Set after the 2012 London Olympics, the film follows Liam (Sam Claflin), an ex-con trying to win back the love and trust of his family. He has lost everything at the hands of a local crime syndicate run by Clifford Cullen (Spall), who has high-level connections in politics, finance and the police force. Liam's drive for redemption sees him caught up in a web of conspiracy, crime, and corruption.
IMDb   5.6 /10
TheMovieDb    6.2 /10
FilmAffinity   4.6 /10
Director Ron Scalpello
Writer Nick Moorcroft
Release Date2019-05-10
Runtime1h 43mins
GenreCrime, Drama, Thriller
Content RatingR (R)
Awards3 nominations.
CompanyMotion Picture Capital, Creativity Capital, Eclipse Films
Liam McDonagh
Clifford Cullen
Anthony Hammond
DS Neil Beckett
DS Gemma Connelly
Sean McDonagh
Aled Arhyel
Aled Arhyel
DCI Raymond Ellery
DI Frank Walsh
DI Graham Patterson
Jonjo Dixon
Nayan Khaliq

The Corrupted

The Corrupted is a 2019 British crime thriller film directed by Ron Scalpello from a screenplay by Nick Moorcroft. The film stars Sam Claflin, Timothy Spall, Hugh Bonneville, Naomi Ackie, Cathal Pendred, Shaun Dooley, Charlie Murphy, Noel Clarke and David Hayman, and follows an ex-convict who tries to win back the trust of his family after losing everything to a local crime syndicate.


  • Sam Claflin as Liam McDonagh, an ex-convict Jack Veal as young Liam
  • Jack Veal as young Liam
  • Timothy Spall as Clifford Cullen, the leader of a local crime syndicate
  • Hugh Bonneville as Anthony Hammond
  • Cathal Pendred as Gerry Dwyer
  • Shaun Dooley as Eamonn
  • Charlie Murphy as DC Gemma Connelly
  • Noel Clarke as DS Neil Beckett
  • David Hayman as DCI Raymond Ellery
  • Lorraine Ashbourne as Pam Cullen, wife of Clifford Cullen
  • Adam Long as Warren Byford
  • Joe Claflin as Sean McDonagh
  • Naomi Ackie as Grace, Liam's wife
  • Aled Arhyel as Archie, Liam's son
  • George Russo as DI Frank Walsh
  • Don Gilet as DI Graham Patterson
  • Alec McKenna as Isaac Gale
  • Decca Heggie as Jonjo Dixon
  • Sam Otto as Nayan Khaliq
  • Linal Haft as Albert Grimes
  • Silas Carson as Mayor Ahmad
  • Kirsty Hoiles as probation officer
  • Jo Dyson as Mrs Byford
  • Shaun Dooley as Eamonn McDonagh
  • Simon Chandler as Andrew Reid, Dy Asst Commissioner
  • Nya Summer as Jodie Connelly
  • Andrei Satalov as Besmir Rugova



On 20 June 2017, Eclipse Global Entertainment announced Ron Scalpello as director on their website.


On 5 February 2018, it was announced that Sam Claflin had joined the cast alongside Timothy Spall. Hugh Bonneville, David Hayman and Naomi Ackie were also added. On 16 March 2018, Noel Clarke was cast as a police detective.


Principal photography commenced on 16 March 2018 in various locations around London, United Kingdom. Some filming took place on the Dartford area of the North Kent Marshes in Kent as the setting of a crime scene.


The film was released theatrically in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2019 by Entertainment Film Distributors. The theatrical trailer and poster were released on 5 April 2019.