Pasapalabra (TV Series 2000– )


Pasapalabra (TV Series 2000– )

IMDb   6.2 /10
Creator Ángel Baviano
Creator Rafael Guardiola
Creator Benjamín Herranz
Creator Luis Moreno
Release Date2000-07-10
Content Rating
Awards11 wins & 18 nominations.
CompanyAntena 3 Televisión
Christian Gálvez
Christian Gálvez
Self - Host / ... 2,384 episodes, 2003-2019
Silvia Jato
Silvia Jato
Self - Hostess 1,128 episodes, 2000-2006


Pasapalabra is a Spanish television game show, adapted from the British format The Alphabet Game.


In each episode, two contestants team with celebrities to play various games. A team's correct responses in these games score seconds, extending their contestant's time limit in the final game, known as el rosco final or el rosco.

In the rosco, gameplay proceeds through letters of the Spanish alphabet. For each letter, the host reads a definition of a word starting with or containing that letter. A contestant responds with a word, or passes by saying "pasapalabra". Completing the rosco with every response correct wins the show's progressive jackpot.


Pasapalabra first aired on Antena 3 in 2000, with Silvia Jato as host. Constantino Romero substituted Jato in 2002. Jaime Cantizano replaced Jato as host in 2006.

In 2006, a Pasapalabra jackpot of 2,190,000 € became the largest prize ever awarded on a game show in Spain, and the third largest prize ever awarded on a game show in Europe.

In 2007, Pasapalabra moved to Telecinco with Christian Gálvez as host. Pasapalabra aired evenings on Telecinco, Monday through Friday.

In 2014, Lilit Manukyan of Armenia became the first Pasapalabra jackpot winner whose native language was not Spanish.

On 2 October 2019, the Supreme Court of Spain ordered Telecinco to cancel the broadcast of Pasapalabra after a legal battle with the format's intellectual property owners ITV Studios.

On 19 December 2019, Antena 3 acquired the rights to air the format from ITV Studios. Roberto Leal took on hosting duties, with Manel Fuentes filling in for him for two episodes while he was quarantined after contracting COVID-19.

On 28 February 2021, a special twenty anniversary episode aired with former hosts Silvia Jato and Jaime Cantizano as guest contestants.