ITV Saturday Night Theatre (1969– )


ITV Saturday Night Theatre (TV Series 1969– )

Anthology series of dramatic works.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
IMDb   6.6 /10
Creator John Jacobs
Creator Marc Miller
Creator Paul Ableman
Creator Jim Allen
Release Date1969-01-10
Runtime1h 18min
Content Rating
AwardsWon 3 Primetime Emmys7 wins & 8 nominations total
CompanyITV - Independent Television, Kestrel Productions, London Weekend Television (LWT)
Michael Balfour
Michael Balfour
Tom Meatyardas Tom Meatyard…
Madoline Thomas
Madoline Thomas
Emmaas Emma…
Sandra Bryant
Sandra Bryant
Molly Socketas Molly Socket
Lady Sarah Bellasizeas Lady Sarah Bellasize
Lucifer Kaneas Lucifer Kane
Danny Sewell
Danny Sewell
Gideonas Gideon
Old Bessieas Old Bessie
Doctor Peppercornas Doctor Peppercorn…
Tony Abbottas Tony Abbott…
Jennieas Jennie…
Ann Tersonas Ann Terson…
Charles Rea
Charles Rea
Barmanas Barman…
Mary MacNeilas Mary MacNeil…
Katie Macleod
Katie Macleod
Susan Blissettas Susan Blissett…
Edgaras Edgar…
Bob Blissettas Bob Blissett
Messengeras Messenger…

ITV Sunday Night Theatre

ITV Sunday Night Theatre, originally titled ITV Saturday Night Theatre, is a British television anthology series screened on ITV, and produced by London Weekend Television (LWT). Some episodes were produced with Kestrel Productions.

Around 200 episodes aired on ITV from 1969–1974, including productions of the plays Long Day's Journey into Night by Eugene O'Neill, A Doll's House by Henrik Ibsen, and Arms and the Man by George Bernard Shaw. Other episodes included adaptions of the works of William Shakespeare, James Joyce, Wilkie Collins, Simon Gray, Sam Shepard, Israel Horovitz, Arthur Miller, August Strindberg, J.B. Priestley, Lanford Wilson, and John Mortimer.

Among its directors were Michael Lindsay-Hogg, Anthony Page, Mike Newell, Fielder Cook, Ted Kotcheff, Peter Wood, and Vivian Matalon.

The actors involved included Helen Mirren, Laurence Olivier, Peggy Ashcroft, Sean Connery, Anthony Hopkins, Michael Caine, Paul Scofield, George C. Scott, Laurence Harvey, Ralph Richardson, Diana Rigg, Trevor Howard, Pamela Buchner, Glenda Jackson, Diane Cilento, Alec Guinness, Jane Asher, Martin Sheen, Colleen Dewhurst, Jean Marsh, Shelley Winters, Ian Holm, Richard Chamberlain, Edith Evans, John Gielgud, Shirley Knight, Jeff Shankley, Sarah Douglas, Ian McKellen, George Sanders and Margaret Whiting.


  • Season 2, Episode 44: Twelfth Night
  • Season 4, Episode 12: Another Sunday and Sweet F.A.
  • Season 5, Episode 13: The Death of Adolf Hitler
  • Season 5, Episode 17: The Ruffian on the Stair
  • Season 5, Episode 20: Long Day's Journey into Night
  • Season 6, Episode 9: Catholics

External links

  • ITV Sunday Night Theatre at IMDb