Anthahpuram (1998)


Anthahpuram (1998)

Bhanu and her son fall prey to the unknown terror background of her husband's family- faction-ism which ultimately causes his death.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
IMDb   7.6 /10
TheMovieDb    6.2 /10
Director Krishna Vamsi
Writer Krishna Vamsi
Release Date
Runtime2h 17mins
GenreAction, Drama
Content Rating
Awards4 wins.
CompanyAnandi Art Creations
Narasimham (as Prakashraj)
Ashok Kumar K.
Ashok Kumar K.
Rama Raju
Rama Raju
Babu Mohan
Babu Mohan
Heera Rajgopal
Heera Rajgopal


Anthahpuram (transl. Palace) is a 1998 Indian Telugu-language action drama film written and directed by Krishna Vamsi, and produced by P. Kiran under the Anandi Art Creations banner. The film stars Jagapati Babu, Soundarya, Prakash Raj and Sai Kumar with music composed by Ilaiyaraaja. Inspired from 1991 American film Not Without My Daughter (1991), the plot revolves around a newly-married NRI woman finding herself in a traditionally feudal family in the Rayalaseema region of Andhra Pradesh.

The film has won nine Nandi Awards and three Filmfare Awards South including Best Film – Telugu. The film was later remade in 1999 in Tamil with the same name with Parthiban replacing Jagapathi Babu and it was remade in Hindi as Shakti: The Power (2003) with Shah Rukh Khan and Karishma Kapoor.


Bhanu is a carefree young woman who lives happily with her guardian in Mauritius. She is introduced to Prakash and they get married quite spontaneously and are expecting a child soon. One day, Prakash comes to know that his family is in trouble, back in India. Bhanu is confused as she believed that he was an orphan, but Prakash explains to her that his family belongs to an extremely feudal society, and unable to bear the factions and violence in the community, he migrated to Mauritius. They decide to travel to India in order to assess the situation.

The couple arrives in Prakash's home town, where his father Narasimha is an influential man with rustic habits, who doesn’t find Bhanu to be traditional enough for his son. Bhanu is uncomfortable with the casual approach to violence that she and her child see in the household. Narasimha’s wife Sharada is a kind-hearted person who takes care of Prakash, Bhanu and their son. She requests them to remain in India for a few more days in order to celebrate Prakash's birthday, and during this time Prakash is killed by Narasimha’s rivals. Bhanu is distraught and tries to take her son away from this madness and violence, but Narasimha stops her from doing so. He says Prakash’s son must be raised in a traditional way in order to avenge his father’s death, and if needed Bhanu can leave the town by leaving her son behind. Bhanu refuses to allow this and, with the help of Narasimha’s family members, she escapes from the house with her son. Sarai Veerraju, a petty thief, helps Bhanu evade Narasimha's man in order to board a train to Hyderabad. Sarai is killed in the midst of violence whilst trying to protect Bhanu and her son. Narasimha continues to pursue Bhanu, but ultimately allows her and the child to leave, after emotionally interacting with his grandson.


  • Soundarya as Bhanumati
  • Prakash Raj as Narasimha
  • Sai Kumar as Prakash. Bhanumati's husband
  • Jagapathi Babu as Sarai Veeraraju
  • Parthiban as Dubai Pandiyan (Tamil version only)
  • K. Ashok Kumar
  • G. V. Sudhakar Naidu
  • Mahadevan as Narasimha's henchman
  • Ramaraju
  • Dasari Arun Kumar as Special appearance
  • Chinna
  • M. S. Narayana
  • Babu Mohan as Bobby
  • Raja Babu
  • Jagga Rao
  • Saratha as Narasimha's Wife
  • Telangana Shakuntala
  • Heera Rajagopal as item number
  • Simran as Radha (Item number & Tamil version)
  • Delhi Rajeswari
  • Master Krishna Pradeep as Raja (Prakash's son)
  • Madhusudhan Rao in an uncredited role


Film score by
LabelMelody Makers
Ilaiyaraaja chronology
Prema Kavyam

The film's music was composed by Ilaiyaraaja to lyrics written by Sirivennela Sitaramasastri, and was released by Melody Makers Audio Company.

The film's music was largely applauded and the song Asalem Gurthukuradhu became an all-time hit, it is an evergreen song yet now and this song is one of Chithra's best songs. S. Janaki received the Nandi Award for her great rendition of Sooreedu Puvva in this film.

1."Asalem"K. S. Chithra5:54
2."Chhamaku"Mano, Swarnalatha4:48
3."Kalyanam"K. S. Chithra5:10
4."Shivamethara"Shankar Mahadevan5:40
5."Suridu Poova"S. Janaki4:59
Total length:27:31
1."Azageah Unn"K. S. Chithra5:54
2."Maana Madura"Mano, Swarnalatha4:48
3."Ammmamma"K. S. Chithra5:10
4."Thai Thaga Thai"Shankar Mahadevan5:40
5."Poovetham Kanna"K. S. Chithra4:59
Total length:27:31


AwardDate of ceremonyCategoryRecipient(s)ResultRef.
Filmfare Awards South24 April 1999Best Film – TeluguAnthahpuramWon
Best Director – TeluguKrishna VamsiWon
Best Actress – TeluguSoundaryaWon
Nandi Awards18 March 1999Special Jury AwardWon
Best Supporting ActorJagapathi BabuWon
Best Character ActorPrakash RajWon
Best Character ActressTelangana ShakuntalaWon
Best Child ActorMaster Krishna PradeepWon
Best Female Playback SingerS. Janaki for Suridu PoovaWon
Best Art DirectorSrinivasa RajuWon
Best Costume DesignerThota SaiWon
Best Female Dubbing ArtistSarithaWon
National Film Awards15 February 2000Special MentionPrakash RajWon