Lassie's Rescue Rangers (TV Series 1973–1975)


Lassie's Rescue Rangers (TV Series 1973–1975)

This cartoon featured Lassie, America's favorite collie, as the leader of The Rescue Rangers, which consisted of the Turner family, Gene Fox (an Indian), and several animals like Toothless the mountain lion, Robbie the raccoon and more.
IMDb   6.6 /10
TheMovieDb    7.0 /10
RottenTomatoes  6.7 /10
FilmAffinity   3.7 /10
Creator Hal Sutherland
Creator Len Janson
Creator Chuck Menville
Release Date1972-11-11
GenreAnimation, Adventure, Family
Content RatingTV-G (TV-G)
CompanyFilmation Associates
Lassie 16 episodes, 1972-1973
Ben Turner 16 episodes, 1972-1973
Susan Turner 16 episodes, 1972-1973
Ben Turner Jr 16 episodes, 1972-1973
Keith Sutherland
Keith Sutherland
Jackie Turner 16 episodes, 1972-1973
Jane Webb
Jane Webb
Laura Turner 16 episodes, 1972-1973

Lassie's Rescue Rangers

Lassie's Rescue Rangers is an animated TV show produced by Filmation and featuring Lassie, running from 1973 to 1975. The hour-long pilot, Lassie and the Spirit of Thunder Mountain, was part of The ABC Saturday Superstar Movie.


In the series, Lassie the collie lives near Thunder Mountain with the Turner family. Ranger Ben Turner (voiced by Ted Knight works with wife Laura (voiced by Jane Webb) and children Susan (voiced by Jane Webb), Jackie (voiced by Lane Scheimer), and Ben Jr. (voiced by Keith Sutherland) as the Forest Force, a ranger-rescue team that protects Thunder Mountain National Park. Lassie is the leader of the Rescue Rangers, a group of wild animals living in the park, working alongside the Turners to help protect the environment and keep it safe for visitors.

The Rescue Rangers were eight animals including Groucho the owl, Toothless the mountain lion, Musty the skunk, and Robbie the raccoon. Also helping the Forest Force was Gene Fox, a Native American, who was Ben Jr.'s, Jackie's and Susan's friend.


The fifteen-episode season was not well-received. Lassie's trainer, Rudd Weatherwax, said, "That's not Lassie. That's trash." The National Association of Broadcasters agreed: "The manufacturers of this rubbish have incorporated violence, crime and stupidity into what is probably the worst show for children of the season."

Episode list

No.TitleOriginal airdate
0"Lassie and the Spirit of Thunder Mountain"November 11, 1972
1"The Animals Are Missing"September 15, 1973
2"Mystic Monster"September 22, 1973
3"Lassie's Special Assignment"September 29, 1973
4"The Imposters"October 6, 1973
5"Deadly Cargo"October 13, 1973
  The team discovers that the couple they rescued from a helicopter crash were transporting explosives.
6"Grizzly"October 20, 1973
7"Deepsea Disaster"October 27, 1973

Jackie, Susan, Gene Fox, Lassie, Toothless, and Fastback are assigned as the crew of the Aquabase. But will a disgruntled sub designer have his revenge?

8"Black Out"November 3, 1973
9"Arctic Adventure"November 10, 1973
  This adventure focuses on the search for firefighters in Alaska.
10"The Sunken Galleon"November 17, 1973
11"Goldmine"November 24, 1973
12"Rodeo"December 1, 1973
13"Hullabaloo in Hollywood"December 8, 1973
  The Rescue Rangers arrive in Hollywood to appear in a movie.  But a mysterious phantom is causing problems on the set.
14"Tidal Wave"December 15, 1973
15"Lost"December 22, 1973
 Duane Johnson gets lost on his first camping trip, putting himself and a mountain man called Jake in terrible danger.