The Trumpet of the Swan (2001)


The Trumpet of the Swan (2001)

It's a high-flying adventure when Louie, a mute trumpeter swan, is given the gift of a trumpet, and finds his voice.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
South Korea
IMDb  5.1 /10
Metacritic   27%
Director Terry L. Noss
Director Richard Rich
Writer Judy Rothman Rofé
Writer E.B. White
Release Date2001-03-01
Runtime1h 15mins
GenreAnimation, Drama, Family, Musical
Content RatingG (G)
Awards1 nomination.
CompanyTriStar Pictures, Nest Family Entertainment, RichCrest Animation
CountryUSA, South Korea, India
Father (voice)
Mother (voice)
Boyd (voice)
Mrs. Hammerbotham (voice)
Monty (voice)
Sam Beaver (voice)
Louie (voice) (as Dee Baker)
Billie (voice)
Serena (cygnet) / Paramedic / Newscaster (voice)
Ella (voice) (as E.G. Daily)
A.G. Skinner (voice) (as Pamela Segall Adlon)
Maurice / Ranger (voice)
Senator (voice)

The Trumpet of the Swan (film)

The Trumpet of the Swan is a 2001 American animated film produced by Nest Family Entertainment and RichCrest Animation Studios, directed by Richard Rich & Terry L. Noss, and distributed by TriStar Pictures.


Based on E. B. White's popular children's book of the same name, it tells the story of a young trumpeter swan who is born with muteness and is vying for the attention of a beautiful pen. He overcomes this by learning to play the trumpet.


  • Dee Bradley Baker as Louie
  • Jason Alexander as Father
  • Mary Steenburgen as Mother
  • Reese Witherspoon as Serena
  • Seth Green as Boyd
  • Carol Burnett as Mrs. Hammerbotham
  • Joe Mantegna as Monty
  • Sam Gifaldi as Sam Beaver
  • Melissa Disney as Billie
  • Kath Soucie as Serena (cygnet) / Paramedic / Newscaster
  • E. G. Daily as Ella
  • Pamela Segall Adlon as A.G. Skinner
  • Steve Vinovich as Maurice / Roger
  • Gary Anthony Williams as Sweets
  • Corey Burton as Senator
  • Michael Winslow as Chief
  • David Jeremiah as Squirrel / Hawk
  • Julie Nathanson as Felicity
  • Dana Daurey as Apathy
  • Michael Kostroff as Waiter
  • Lee Magnuson as Clerk
  • Steve Franken as Bud
  • Norman Parker as Policeman
  • Jack Angel as Justice of the Geese


Critical reception

This film received mostly negative reviews from critics. On Rotten Tomatoes, the film scored a 15% 'Rotten' rating. The site's critical consensus says "An uninspired E.B. White adaptation that's targeted at the very young."

Box office

It failed to get an audience at the box office for two reasons: 1. A small limited release, and 2. Because of the release of DreamWorks' animated hit Shrek the following week which would cause the film to lose most of its potential audience. By the end of its run, the film grossed a mere $102,202.

Awards and nominations

In 2001, it was nominated by the Casting Society of America for best voice-casting in an animated film, but lost the award to Disney's The Emperor's New Groove. It is notable, however, that an independent animated film would be able to win such a nomination. It was the last film based on a book by E. B. White until 2006's Charlotte's Web.